Posted by: journeytokathmandu | 2010/01/21

Elephant Journal Article

This week, ‘Elephant Journal‘ ran an article about the film.  It’s one of my favorite question and answer sessions thus far.  Below is an excerpt; you can check out the full article here:

Sometimes people come into our lives rather serendipitously. About a month ago I noticed that the apartment next to me looked a little different. A hand-painted sign that said “Journey to Kathmandu” sat outside the door next to a Buddha statue with what looked like some Southeast Asian currency in his hands. “Oh great, another Portlander that’s found themselves on a backpacking trip in Thailand,” I thought to myself in a snarky manner. I invited my neighbor over for dinner none the less; anyone that has a Buddha statue outside of their door has to have an interesting story. And he did.

Turned out that my neighbor had just returned from Nepal where he was filming a documentary. Before I met Chris Parkhurst in person, I got to see the trailer to the documentary he’s currently working on. The trailer for “Journey to Kathmandu” almost brought tears to my eyes, not because it deals with a death-defying story or a heart wrenching cause, but because in just a little over two minutes you see beauty and simplicity. Signs of a more conscious life.

Parkhurst is an inspirational filmmaker, someone who is grounded and has taken real life lessons from his travels. And even thought it’s still in production stage, the idea behind his documentary is pretty amazing and should be shared. So here’s a down to earth interview with the Director of Journey to Kathmandu.

Read the Elephant Journal article in its entirety.


Leave a comment

Categories